Skip to content

Sunil Gavaskar sings ‘Mere Desh ki Dharti’ after Neeraj Chopra luggage India’s first gold at Tokyo Olympics 2020


    Sunil Gavaskar sings Mere Desh ki Dharti after Neeraj Chopra wins Gold in Tokyo Olympics 2020

    On Saturday, Javelin thrower Neeraj Chopra scripted historical past to win India’s first Gold medal at the Tokyo Olympics 2020. He turned the second Indian to win a person Gold medal on the Olympics after shooter Abhinav Bindra and the primary Indian to win an Olympic medal in a track-and-field occasion.

    The historic second was celebrated by Indians worldwide, together with the commentary panel of the ongoing England versus India Test series. The complete panel cheered for Chopra for his breathtaking achievement for India on the worldwide stage.

    However, one celebration that attracted most eyeballs got here from none apart from the cricket legend Sunil Gavaskar. The former India captain erupted in pleasure and was even noticed singing and dancing to the patriotic track ‘Mere Desh Ki Dharti’ from the 1967 movie ‘Upkar’.

    The official Twitter deal with of Sony Sports India shared a video on social media the place Gavaskar will be seen having fun with the particular second. Apart from the Mumbaikar, former India batsman Ajay Jadeja and quick bowler Ashish Nehra have been additionally noticed celebrating Chopra’s colossal feat on the Olympics.

    Here is the video:

    The different Indian winners, aside from Chopra at Tokyo Olympics 2020, have been wrestler Bajrang Punia, weightlifter Mirabai Chanu, shuttler PV Sindhu, one other wrestler Ravi Dahiya, boxer Lovlina Borgohain and the Indian males’s hockey workforce.

    After the spectacular present by all of the medal winners, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) determined to honour them by asserting the money rewards with INR 1 crore reserved for Chopra.

    Silver medallists – weightlifter Saikhom Mirabai Chanu and wrestler Ravi Kumar Dahiya – shall be given INR 50 lakh every, whereas bronze medallists — wrestler Bajrang Punia, boxer Lovlina Borgohain and shuttler PV Sindhu — will get INR 25 lakh every.

    Similarly, the boys’s hockey workforce, which gained its first Olympic medal in 41 years, will get INR 1.25 crore.


    Source link

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *